Senior Housing Definitions

Each of us is unique, so no single type of living arrangement will fit everyone’s needs. Thankfully, there are a variety of senior housing options available to fit each individual’s needs and desires.

Independent Living

Independent living is designed for seniors who require little or no assistance. In California, these independent living communities, also known as retirement homes, do not provide supportive services or help with activities of daily living.

Assisted Living

Assisted Living refers to a special combination of housing, personalized supportive services, and health-related care designed to respond to the individual needs of those who require help with activities of daily living. Learn more about Assisted Living in general and RCFEs in California .

Continuing Care Retirement Community

Continuing Care Retirement Communities (CCRCs) offer several levels of care, including independent living, Assisted Living, and skilled nursing care. In the state of California, all CCRCs offering continuing care contracts for both Assisted Living and skilled nursing must hold a certificate of authority, an RCFE license, and a Skilled Nursing Facility license issued by the Department of Public Health.

Nursing Home

Nursing homes in California are licensed as Skilled Nursing Facilities through the Department of Public Health. These facilities provide 24-hour skilled care for chronic and short-term conditions that require medical and nursing care. Patients generally rely on assistance for most or all activities of daily living.